the morning drive

tuesdaymorning

The morning drive to school is my favorite time of day. Usually, it’s just me out there- for at least the good ten miles it takes to get to PA 64. This drive is the most peaceful, centering kind of driving I could ever do. This spot is about six miles from my house, and at just after seven in the morning, it’s gorgeous.

Can you imagine the beauty of a Pennsylvania morning? Even when it’s cloudy and grey, I love it. I’m so thankful I can wake up and make this drive every morning. My heart breaks at the idea of ever leaving this place, of never ever seeing this landscape. I look forward to this particular spot in the morning, the way the light breaks over the mountain on my right and kisses the ridge of the mountain on my right…

Pennsylvania is my home, and it always will be. It seems, that wherever I may go, whomever I may meet, and whatever I do, it’s this place I long for the most. I talk a big talk about leaving, moving away, taking my kit up to Wellsboro or Boston and never looking back. The fact of the matter is that I couldn’t ever do it. The one thing I will ever have in common with Scarlett O’Hara is my undying loyalty to this land, and the person it has shaped me to be.

I hope you can understand. I hope, that one day, you will have your morning drive, too. Your land, your home. We all have one, just some of us haven’t found it yet.

Leave a Reply

