early golden days

theroadthefarmI like to see how light plays with cameras, and since I’m on the go a lot, I use my phone’s camera to catch the things I never want to forget I have seen. These early golden days of fall are my favorite, how the light is less harsh and more mellow, and how the greenery is slowly fading into richer colors like red, yellow, and gold.

Everything I have been knitting, and planning to knit, is of yarn in such colors. Right now, I’m working on a Knit Night that is not very photogenic, but absolutely gorgeous in life. The colors remind me of a late November afternoon, all dusky and muted. The beads I chose are clear with a gorgeous copper lining that accents the yarn’s golden threads perfectly. I can’t wait to share it with you! However, I need sixty increase points total, and since it’s knit lengthwise, it’s a ridiculously time-consuming knit. It will be worth it, and I’ll have yards and yards of fall-colored alpaca wrapped around my neck soon.

I’m excited to be going to the Antique Machinery Show this weekend, and I’m planning at trip to the Pasto Agricultural Museum for a fiber event. I wish I was headed to the Pennsylvania Endless Mountains Fiber Festival this year, but I wasn’t aware of it beforehand to make plans. I love all kinds of fiber and agricultural related things, good gravy! I wish there was more events like that in Pennsylvania, but one day I’ll go to Rhinebeck… one day!

Ah, the excitement of fall. There’s so much to do and see, it’s hard to fit it all in. Fortunately I get to take a gorgeous drive to and from school every day, so I can at least admire the beauty even if I cannot go and adventure in it. Have a happy Friday everyone, and I’ll see you on Monday!

Leave a Reply

